Modern Learner Challenge

Last week at the Liberty LEADS conference, Will Richardson @willrich45 talked about living in the age of abundance and how education fundamentally needs to change in order to prepare students to successfully navigate an unpredictable future where they will continually be required to demonstrate the flexibility and mastery of learning, relearning, and creating sense in a fast paced ever changing world.

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 5.33.05 PM

Will refers to this phenomena as “Modern Learning” and it really resonated with the crowd:

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 5.31.46 PM

Screen Shot 2014-07-29 at 5.31.57 PM

Will challenged us to ask ourselves, “Would you like to be a student in your classroom?”

Did you answer with a quick absolutely, my class is great!?  Did you stop to consider the learner you are welcoming into your class every day?  You know, the one that is used to access that is fast, reliable, and always on?  Think about that student and ask…

Would you like to be a student in your classroom?

Will goes on to identify what our kids need to be successful, modern learners (note the two highlighted additional C’s):

6 C’s
Communicating
Collaborating
Critical Thinking
Creating
Computing 
Connections
The last two C’s make me reflect on my own progress as a modern learner.  Am I connected enough to truly understand today’s youth and help myself and others grow and share on a more global scale?
I think I could do better.
My job is amazing.  I get to be around super positive educators across the district and see what is happening in their classrooms. I share stories, but they could be more timely as I could work on efficiency. After hearing three amazing speakers last week, I decided to create a professional Instagram account.
Why Instagram?
  • All of my pictures will be in one spot (easy access)
  • Pictures can hold descriptions
  • Photo editing options
  • Videos can be added
  • Comments, favorites, and following are all options
  • Easy sharing on Social Media (Twitter, Facebook, etc.)
  • I’m never without my phone, so the app works in my world
  • Living and talking closer to the same language as students?  Priceless…

I wondered how people are using Instagram in education so I did some checking around (aka I “Googled it”)

How could you promote your classroom or school with Instagram?  For instance, Instagram: Promoting your Campus through Photos

I’m certainly not here to say Instagram is for everyone, it is one social media platform that can help you connect with others.  It is up to you what story you want to share!

 

Leave a Reply

