Digital Citizenship – Increase Focus

This week Grades 3-5 students all across the district are talking about multi-tasking and the impact this process has on their ability to focus. We are using the first lesson in Common Sense’s Digital Passport Module for students to experience the frustration that can accompany making decisions when they are also focusing on reading a text message. Sounds easy, right? Well, after my third try in the Digital Passport practice field, it appeared that I improved, but in reality it had more to do with me focusing and working fast  when I was concentrating on moving the items and then stop moving to actually read the text. Effective multi-tasking? I should say not. More like continuous partial attention at best.

We all know there are dangers associated with texting while driving as demonstrated in this video:

So it leads me to wonder how do we slow the multi-tasking mentality and help our students and teachers develop a balanced lifestyle that allows for real focus and increased productivity? I found this interesting excerpt from an infographic titled, “This is your brain on multi-tasking

Screen Shot 2014-09-09 at 9.28.46 AM

Take the challenge, if you don’t have an account to try out the Digital Passport, you can try this OpenSite activity called “The Multitask Test: See How Your Skills Stack Up“. This activity also looks at focus and multi-tasking. I found my results to be interesting and know that at one time I would have promoted myself as being a master multi-tasker. Now I realize that there is a time to shut off email and all things social media to really concentrate on the task at hand as I am not ok with the potential outcomes as summarized in this infographic picture below.

Screen Shot 2014-09-09 at 11.50.35 AM

Leave a Reply

