Getting Started with Twitter Lists

Yesterday afternoon I had a great conversation with Beth Cunningham, Principal at Alexander Doniphan Elementary, about how Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 10.53.39 AMengaged her staff is becoming as Twitter users. They have created a great conversation to check out at #lpsad. One of the things Beth was sharing with me is that sometimes people don’t tweet to this hashtag and then she misses out on being part of their conversations unless she directly clicks into each individual account.  So I challenged her to create a building Twitter list to follow. By 8:06 pm she had already accomplished her challenge.

This morning, I started thinking about how Twitter is being used all over the district so decided to send out another challenge to more administrators:

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 10.55.56 AM

Knowing that most administrators won’t see my challenge until tonight, I started thinking… how can I challenge administrators if I’m not willing to also participate, so I ask myself why don’t I have a list of all District admin? That would be a list many people might be interested in following. Challenge Accepted – LPS Admin Team. Please note, I’m up to 41 members and still growing as I do not have everyone’s Twitter names.

Then I started thinking… this is a great idea, but what if the admin team isn’t sure how to get started? I really need something quick and easy to share to get this going. I decided to use Tackk as it is a great container and created three video tutorials (about 5 minutes total) to help get started. Click HERE to view the PD Snack below.

Screen Shot 2014-09-24 at 11.01.03 AM

My hope is that I will hear back from others who have created and shared a Twitter List and as they come in, I will be sure to post below! The goal here is to start a conversation and then crowdsource as a learning community.

Screen Shot 2014-09-25 at 2.17.53 PM

Heritage Middle School List

Leave a Reply

