Who are you as a leader?

I love working with amazing educators and leaders to gain new perspectives and be continually pushed out of my comfort zone.  Over the holiday break I had a friendly nudge by Sara Wickham who challenged me to wake up and start blogging again! Since I do enjoy telling our story via social media coupled with having a slightly competitive personality, I had but one response for Sara… Challenge Accepted!

Several months ago I started searching for answers as to who am I trying to reach with my blog. I have lots of ideas in my head, but like many people wonder how relevant they are to others. So I’m starting a journey and have no idea what side trips I might take, but by the end of the challenge I want to be able to report out the top three reasons I blog. So, here’s putting myself out there by looking at who I am as a leader.

Strengths Based LeadershipMy reflection begins with a fascinating read (and survey) that highlights leadership domains people possess titled Strengths Based Leadership. The idea is to intentionally create teams that build on each other’s strengths to provide more diverse thinking when approaching organizational opportunities.

My Top 5 Leadership Strengths:

  1. Strategic – This strength is the reason I have difficulty turning off my brain and walking away. By valuing participatory leadership and using the strengths of others, no problem is too large to tackle in new and innovative ways!
  2. Arranger – One of the best aspects of my job is a daily dose of unpredictable organizational opportunities that have no clear “right answer”.  I think Arrangers tend to get excited about getting started and have a hard time saying no. Reflection, building capacity, and celebrating others are ever present in this domain.
  3. Communication – No one can read your mind, so why not be clear about what you are thinking? Putting people at ease and getting them to talk in groups are critical strengths in this domain.
  4. Achiever – Create goals, find measurements for success, and get the job done. Achievers tend to be self-taught in some aspect which causes me to pause and appreciate the many informal learning opportunities that are now available!
  5. Futuristic – Choose your own path and articulate where you are going. Futuristics tend to think in terms of possibilities and thus are prepared for course changes as needed. I find myself driven by considering “What If…” and “Why Not…”

I have found it very beneficial to consider my own strengths and opportunities for growth as I transition in planning for next year’s new cohort program. We have a pool of diverse adult learners moving from their Point A to their Point B in whatever path that takes. Maximizing success will require a lot of support, flexibility, and dynamic monitoring of our progress in order to systemically grow. Honestly, I can’t wait to see what unfolds!

As you consider your goals have you asked yourself:

Who are you as a leader and what strengths are present (or missing) on your teams?

Leave a Reply

