Spring Cleaning My Blog

ClutterAfter several months of limited sunlight and cold weather, I look forward to spring bringing out a renewed energy for de-cluttering my life.

Traditionally this time of the year I arm myself with large bags and “feng shui” our household and make many trips to our local donation center. As I pull another bag out of my closet, I take pause and wonder… why not apply these concepts to my digital life? Every now and then it is healthy to stop and consider where you are spending your time and energy and if this time is adding value to your life and others.

So on a chilly Spring Break day, I find myself obsessed with building a new home for my blog. My goal? Finding a space for my thoughts and reflections to live that is interesting enough I want to visit often.

Creating a Title Image

It is no secret I am obsessed with Canva. It is one of the easiest design tools you can use! I noticed my old title image really focused on the word LEARN, and honestly I think that was simply because it was the first in line. As I analyze my blog posts and create my title image, it dawns on me that my passion is actually helping people GROW… it isn’t about the destination, it is about the journey!

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 10.38.55 AM.png

Choosing a Layout

I noticed on my old blog theme that many of my posts are longer than I anticipated. This creates a scrolling nightmare to preview any topics below the first two posts. It was time to make the design easier for anyone (including myself) to quickly scroll and find interesting posts. I found myself drawn to the magazine layouts where there is an image and short snip-it of information followed by a “read more”.

Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 10.39.11 AM.png

What does this mean for the future of my blog? I absolutely need to practice writing better first paragraphs that are succinct and interesting, hooking my audience to read on. I really liked themes that share how many comments have been posted on each topic. That makes it nice for viewers to decide which posts are inspiring the most interaction!

Categories and Tags

I’m noticing that originally I thought I knew what I wanted to tag my posts. Screen Shot 2016-03-21 at 12.03.51 PMTurns out I wasn’t being very intuitive! I find myself going back though my posts and wondering:

  • How will my categories and tags be interpreted by others?
  • Are these tags the best terms to organize my posts?

Featured Images

As I look through the resources for this (free) Oxygen Theme I selected to use on WordPress, I begin to realize I don’t use Featured Images in my blog posts. I am giving myself a break on feeling bad about not using this option until now because when I started blogging, I wasn’t ready to look into all of the feature options. I’m now ready to move from MY Point A to my Point B in blogging. What does that mean for the future of my blog?

I will start:

  • Practicing creating and setting Featured Images
  • Being more intentional on tagging and categorizing
  • Writing more engaging titles and first paragraphs that hook readers

I think it is important to understand that backtracking and changing things takes a lot of time and effort. I am of the mindset that you start new today and build forward and if you have time you go back and edit. That’s how change becomes manageable and not overwhelming.

So, as I take my first step forward in my new blog look, I’m throwing out a challenge:

What will do today to learn and/or declutter ONE thing on a current project?

2 responses to “Spring Cleaning My Blog

  1. So much food for thought. I started looking at all the drafts I had not finished. Many were just titles. I hadn’t touched my blog in eight months. But, I got in there and finished two over Spring Break. Now I need to start cleaning up my site as well. Thanks for the inspiration and ideas.

    Like

    • Really excited you started blogging again! Since Spring Break, I have started about 10 blog posts and am hoping to get them finalized and posted. Sometimes I find it harder to stop than to start!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

