Connecting and Reflecting on ISTE 2016

For those of you who have either attended ISTE or looked at the hashtag, you know that this is a monster conference of connected educators coming together to collaborate and learn. This year was no different and as I look back over the past few days, I’m left excited I was part of this process and now planning how I can implement what I have learned to help students and staff in my district.

Over the four days I was at ISTE, I walked roughly 68,000 steps (31 miles according to my Garmin), had countless conversations, and tweeted around 300 times (give or take a few). I intentionally used Twiter as my sole note taking system. I figure with 140 characters, the process keeps my brain ignited and constantly summarizing and making new connections. Twitter allows me to keep everything in one place while I constantly scanned the hashtag for what others were learning. Last year I was #NotAtISTE and really appreciated learning from participants tweets. This year I wanted to give back.

I have several tricks for surviving the overwhelming volume and flow of information, but that is for another post. This post is to share my notes in a more outlined process. When I returned and started looking through my tweets, I wanted to pull them together in a timeline format and add the digital resources that accompanied the sessions in a one-stop shop that doesn’t get buried in my Twitter stream.

I chose Storify because:

  • Storify is easy to use
  • Tweets and favorites can be automatically brought into the stream
  • Entries can be rearrange via oldest first to give a timeline feel
  • Annotations can be added to the timeline in order to expand on the content
  • Social Media doesn’t stop at Twitter and other formats can also be included in the story

Keep in mind, my notes are still a rough draft, but as Pernille Ripp said, why do we always feel we have to lead with our final draft? Let’s rough draft and build as we receive feedback. Starting next week I will begin pulling some of my tweets that are playing in my mind and write more detailed posts, but for now… here are some highlights of what I learned!

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 1.34.14 PM.png

Note: evidently hosted WordPress doesn’t allow for Storify embed codes… so we will go old school.

Preview my annotated notes (Storify) here: https://storify.com/tkracht/iste-2016

I would love to hear what resonates with you, so please leave a comment or tweet…

What would you like me to expand on from my ISTE 2016 notes?

One response to “Connecting and Reflecting on ISTE 2016

  1. Know I already said it, but thanks for sharing all your learning. Keeps inspiring me to learn, but also to improve sharing (which means I need to relaunch my blog) and connecting with others along my journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

