Life Is An Adventure

One of the things I like most about life is that often what happens is unexpected. Don’t get me wrong, I love a great plan full of attainable and yet challenging goals, but sometimes the simplicity of life throwing you a curveball makes you stop and just live in the moment.

Khao Phing Kan “James Bond Island”

My husband, Dave, often travels the world for work and imagine my surprise as I sat in a meeting one Friday afternoon, glanced down at my laptop, and saw an email unexpectedly come through from United with an itinerary for travel to Bangkok.

I knew Dave was traveling to Thailand for work but he decided we needed to extend his stay and go on an adventure. Before this year, I didn’t realize Thailand was on my bucket list until the opportunity presented itself and we started researching this amazing country in Southeast Asia.

We spent time in Phuket, the Phi Phi Islands, and Bangkok. The people were amazing, friendly, and extremely helpful considering we don’t speak Thai. The food was unbelievable and as we looked out across the Andaman Sea, we were greeted with the most breathtaking karsts. I still need to download my photos, and will absolutely share this summer, but I’m not ready yet as I’m still living in the memory of the moment…

One of my favorite memories of Thailand was standing waist deep in the warm sea and thinking about the differences between Phuket’s beaches and my favorite Florida beach, Siesta Key. I remember staring into the horizon some 9,000+ miles away from home, being keenly aware of people talking around me. As I tuned into conversations I heard the most musical sounds. I could pick out voices from around the world speaking Chinese, Japanese, Russian, German, and English with a heavy Australian accent. It was right there, in the Andaman Sea, that I realized how small the world really is and how lucky I was to be spending my time with people from places I have only dreamed of visiting.

As I reflect on our adventure, I find myself thinking about the world my kids (11 and 13) are growing up in and hoping that we are teaching them to seek out experiences that allow them to learn about and experience different cultures. I’m not going to lie, it is a long flight to Thailand, but totally worth it as it is a trip that will not soon be forgotten.

Our adventure to Thailand makes me think about the other adventures we have had over the past few years and reflecting on what makes each place unique and how we have grown by what we have experienced and learned.

karst

Stay tuned… #Adventure has only just begun.

Leave a Reply

